Her Story

My tale is plain and simple. I’m just another 19 year old, working hard to get the body of my dreams. If you asked me what I wanted to do 5 years back, my answer would have been entirely different. This is because when I was 14 going on 15, I was your typical skinny girl. I jogged once in a while, attended Taekwondo lessons every other week but I ate whatever I like. I loved my sweet indulgences. I didn’t exactly possess a great body but I couldn’t gain weight. I had nothing to complain about and was content with my lifestyle.

However, things never remain the same. The oh-so-cheesy line to add here is ‘the only thing constant in life is change’. When I was 17, I started putting on weight. I wasn’t small-sized anymore. My body started to change drastically. My thighs grew larger, my shoulders grew a lot broader, I started storing fats at the sides of my waist. I wasn’t exactly fat per se, but if you’re living in a teenage girl’s world, you would understand how this condition wasn’t acceptable as there is tremendous pressure to look healthy and that usually means ‘thin’.

So, when I started college a year ago, I participated in various activities to stay active. I tried different sports like muay thai, capoeira, salsa, belly dance, jazz ballet, street jazz, hip hop.. y0u name it, I’d probably have tried it. So you’d think if I had so many activities under my belt, I should look really good by now. The thing is…. I don’t. I’m definitely not as pudgy as I was in my late 17’s and I’m not fat, but I also don’t look fit. Reason underlying this is due to my impatience. I kept switching sports and when I saw no change, I give up, contending that exercise is a waste of time.

The first day you start working out is the day you expect to see results. I still remember training hard at the Muay Thai studio one day and the next morning, looking for results and improvements in the mirror.  And you won’t. That’s what makes it so frustrating. Looking fit ( not skinny ) entails a lot more than just staying active. It involves adapting to a healthier lifestyle as a whole. Exercise might keep you feeling alert and pumped but exercise alone will not keep you healthy and definitely not give you the body of your dreams. I need to make changes to my diet and stick to having good workout habits. No more taking long breaks from not working out, no more junk food, no more laziness and complacency.

It’s not just about health and fitness, it’s also about fashion and beauty. Because in order to look good, you have to feel good in what you wear. … it begins with taking care of your body inside out. This is my journey of weight loss, gaining self confidence and achieving goals in my life. I will share what I’ve learnt, what I’ve been through when I decided I wanted to change my lifestyle. I have learnt to accept that not everyone is alike. I still have friends out there who eat anything they like, at anytime of day and they still look good. In fact, they pride their lifestyle habits of having fast food for supper and sleeping in all day. That is a choice they make. That is why it is important for me to know my self-worth and maintain a positive attitude. In short : I do this for me!

I am really glad that at this point of time, I have Nicholas ( Nick ) to accompany me on my fitness journey as adapting to a new lifestyle is never easy. It requires a lot of discipline and hard work. Read his story. It is always easier and more fun when working out with a friend. We can learn about each other’s improvements, motivate each other and share what we’ve learnt. So, if you’ve been hesitating working out and keeping healthy, why not get out of that rut and start with us? Hard times are always overcome more easily with a friend (:

 

It is also important to note that Nick and I are not certified health professionals. This is just our online fitness journal which we would like to share with everyone. As sometimes we like to sound more intelligent than we actually are, don’t substitute our advice and tips for professional medical advice, diagnose or treatment.

5 years ago, all I wanted to do was travel and lead a fabulous life with little care about my health and fitness. Now it’s slowly seeping in my life to become an integral part of my day. My body aches without a workout, not vice versa.

“It’s not just about where you came from, what you do, and how you think; it’s your choices in life that defines you who you are and how you want others to see you.”

Nana.

Leave a Reply

